The Conversation that started it all

Anytime any one of us set out on a major life change where the results are plainly obvious to everyone you meet they always wants to know what made you decide that you needed to make a change. It is hard for me to pin down one thing in particular that tipped the scales, but there is one conversation that stands out to me. A couple of weeks ago we were talking here in the office about how our secretary had just completed a marathon, and all of the preparation, pay off, and pain that she experienced. My boss made the comment that he thought I could run a 5k if I worked at it, he then proceeded to up the stakes. He told me that if I completed the task by Thanksgiving 2012 he would pay me $100, $200 if I managed to complete a 10K.

So that was it, call it a moment of “don’t tell me I can’t” or maybe it was just plain greed, but at that moment I decided I was going to at least try. So now that I have three friends willing to act as coaches for this journey, as well as another dose of incentives added to the pot. I believe this is the most motivated and serious I have ever been to change my lifestyle.

Tonight the journey to run a 5K begins, it’s a cool crisp evening and I have no plans tonight, so I am going to see how far I can walk. To tell you the truth I don’t even know if I can walk a 5K, 3.1 miles, so I will let you know how it goes. I have to go and get a good pair of walking/running shoes, and then set off on my 5K quest.

2 thoughts on “The Conversation that started it all

  1. Duane, I’ve just been reading through your posts here and this is awesome! When this is all said and done, I’m sure your boss will be happy to part with that $200 and the people around you will be inspired. Praying for you…

Leave a Reply

