So where have I been?

Sorry about the massive cliff hanger that I have left for those of you who follow my blog. About a month ago I left you with the fact that I was only one pound away from my goal weight and that I was heading in to the next week determined to hit my goal weight.

Well…

I made my goal weight, in almost exactly 9 and a half months. I started on the 9th of January and finished up on October the 23rd, on that day I weighed in at 226 pounds and I had lost 228 pounds!! Then two days later I had family come to town, followed by a death in the family, followed by a crazy busy time with the ministry, so I forgot to write about it here! There has also been some other goals met during my blog silence.

  • Saturday the 27th I was able to complete and compete in my first official 5K. I ran it in 31:35 and finished 3rd in my division. It was a super cold morning and the course was not the easiest, but it felt amazing to be out their!!
  • I was also able to fly without a seat belt extender for the first time in my life, that was a truly amazing feeling!
  • I ran 6 miles this last Sunday without stopping, and while feeling great about it!
  • While home for a few days, I got to reintroduce myself to all my family, and I was constantly confused for my younger – and until now smaller – brother!

So now what? That is the question that I always get asked, and to be honest I don’t know. Now that I have found fit, I am learning that finding fit may have been the easy part, keeping it may be the real challenge! I will most definitely keep you up to date and in the loop about how it looks for me fighting the fight and sticking with it! I will leave you with a couple of my more recent pictures of me since reaching my goal.

  

4 thoughts on “So where have I been?

  1. Well done duane!! Well done! It has been such a joy and encouragment to follow your story this year. I too strove to find fit and break some old habbits this year and even thought I did not have as much to loose your blog was a source of great encouragment to me. Seeing you be consistant helped me reach my goals! Take care.

  2. Duane, With the Lord there are no accidents! Your blog has been a real testimony to the ability to lose weight and get healthy in the face of seemingly immeasurable obstacles!

    I too lost weight on HMR five years ago (85 lbs) and kept if off for years. Also like you, I began jogging and eventually got up racing in a couple of 5ks and even got to where I could jog 10 miles. I got hooked on running, usually going six days a week.

    Like a dummy, I took my eyes off the process that worked and gained most of my weight back back.

    In early September I rededicated myself to the program. That is when I found your blog and it truly helped motivate me.

    So far I’ve lost about 50 lbs by doing 3-2-5, 45 minutes of P-90 along with one hour of bicycling every day.

    In closing, some adivice…..
    1) Do continue running
    2) Forget about the junk food everyone else eats….that was the old you, the new you needs good fuel
    3) Take up another health challenge that will take months to achieve like a mini triathelon to keep you focus on moving forward.

    All the best brother!
    RM

    • Thank you so much for those great words of encouragement. I am so glad that you are back on the rite path!! I think that I am going to set a goal to run a half in the spring and a full next christmas!

Leave a Reply

